Skip to content

Past scholarships

ISRA Global Scholarship Award — historical programme

This is an archive of postgraduate scholarship terms advertised for a cycle closing on 15 January 2018. Use it to understand the old award and its cost boundaries, not to apply for funding now. [A]

Sources checked 6 October 2026

Historical source record · educational explanation

The advertised deadline is past. This independently written page does not administer scholarships, represent ISRA or receive applications.

The ISRA Global Scholarship Award

The original page was issued by the International Shari’ah Research Academy for Islamic Finance (ISRA). Its page title is ISRA - Full Scholarship; the body calls the programme the ISRA Global Scholarship Award. It describes postgraduate study support within the Fund for Shari’ah Scholars in Islamic Finance and attributes the fund to Bank Negara Malaysia’s commitment to developing the industry. This is a programme record, with no individual biography or institutional endorsement. [A]

1 · Capture date, closing date and today

These are record dates, not stages of an application process.

  1. 14 December 2017Wayback captured the original programme page. The publication date is unstated.
  2. 15 January 2018The page’s stated closing date. That cycle is past.
  3. 6 October 2026This editorial record was checked. No new opening is established.

Historical cycle only; no award-decision date or new deadline is inferred.

Full text alternative: The page was captured in December 2017, advertised a January 2018 closing date, and was checked for this record in October 2026. These three dates mean different things.

New editorial timeline based on the original captured page. Sources: A.

What the captured cycle required

The award addressed applicants of all nationalities studying Shariah or Islamic finance at recognised higher education institutions in Malaysia. That geographical condition concerns the institution, not citizenship. The captured page required all of the following. [A]

  • A recognised bachelor’s degree in Shariah or its stated equivalents: Muamalat, Jurisprudence, Islamic Law, Fiqh, Usul al-Fiqh or another equivalent.
  • An offer for, or current enrolment in, full-time master’s or doctoral study in Shariah, Islamic finance or equivalent.
  • Minimum CGPA 3.50/4.0, 4.0/5.0, 80/100, a distinction or equivalent. These are the source’s listed alternatives, not a conversion formula.
  • The programme’s language requirements met.
  • No other scholarship or financial assistance being received.

The page does not state a separate religion criterion. “All nationalities” does not mean every applicant qualifies, and it does not by itself settle Muslim/non-Muslim eligibility. Access to an Islamic banking product is a different question from access to this academically restricted award. No personal eligibility assessment is made here. [A]

2 · “Full scholarship” still has boundaries

The source lists categories; it does not give ringgit amounts or payment instructions.

Advertised coverage

Tuition and allowances

Academic tuition; living, books, equipment, conference, and thesis/end-of-study allowances.

Tuition exclusions

Costs to check separately

Registration/entrance fee, refundable deposit, personal bond and accommodation are excluded from academic tuition coverage.

Coverage limits

Maximum duration

Master’s: two years. PhD: three years. No automatic extension is stated.

Unverified mechanics

Agreement and payment details

Allowance amounts, payment recipient, repayment duties and service bonds are not established by this page.

“Personal bond” is the source’s term for an excluded item; it is not proof of a scholarship service bond.

Full text alternative: The source names covered tuition and allowances, excludes specific items from tuition coverage, and caps duration at two or three years. It does not establish payment flow or all award obligations.

New coverage map for the January 2018 cycle only. Sources: A.

Tuition, allowances and excluded costs

Consider a fictional Malaysian student reading this old offer while comparing postgraduate funding. The useful question is not just whether tuition is covered: who pays the excluded costs, and are living allowances enough for the actual accommodation bill? Accommodation is excluded from tuition coverage even though a subsistence allowance is listed. The page gives no allowance amounts, reimbursement rules or recipient of tuition payments. It cannot support a precise personal budget or a cash-flow diagram. [A]

No loan structure, asset ownership transfer, service obligation or “no repayment under any circumstances” promise is established by the captured summary. An award agreement would be needed to explain those rights and obligations. Keep the source’s excluded “personal bond” term separate from an unverified employment/service bond. [A]

What the programme page says about documents

Its historical checklist names a form, admission/offer letter, degree certificates and complete transcripts, identification/passport copy, two referee letters, and a thesis proposal with an unclear study-mode qualifier. The archived wording is “programme by researcher coursework & research”; the precise applicable modes cannot be settled without the linked form or clarification in another original source. It records hand delivery, registered post or courier. These describe the archived application, not instructions to send documents now. No personal documents should be submitted to this editorial record. The page links a file named Scholarship-Form-2018-full.pdf; that link does not establish the 2016 form’s contents. [A]

3 · Choose the record for your question

Follow the purpose of each record; these are separate reference branches.

Historical terms

2018-cycle programme

Use this capture to understand the advertised postgraduate award.

Exact old document

2016 form record

Use the separate record to see what remains unrecovered; do not substitute a 2018 form.

Funding now

Official INCEIF references

Check each named scholarship’s intake and rules. ISHRIF is separate one-time zakat assistance.

Everyday products

Islamic finance guide G01

Learn how accounts and financing differ. Product access does not determine scholarship eligibility.

Connections are editorial reading suggestions, not institutional referrals or a verified successor relationship.

Full text alternative: Four distinct questions lead to the archived programme, the 2016 document record, official current funding information, or G01. None of these branches supplies the missing contents of another.

New reader connection map; archived terms and current source classifications are separately cited. Sources: A · C · I.

Looking for funding today

The official INCEIF financial-aid page presently lists Chancellor’s and President’s scholarships with their own intake information. They are useful starting references; no reviewed source establishes them as direct successors to this historical award. Check the named programme’s current entry rather than reusing January 2018 terms. The official ISHRIF FAQ explicitly identifies one-time zakat assistance for eligible asnaf students (the category of recipients entitled to zakat assistance under that scheme’s rules), not a scholarship. Asnaf eligibility has its own rules; the ISRA name alone does not show equivalence. [C] [I]

  • Match the programme name, intake, institution and applicant category.
  • Read the current coverage, exclusions and award agreement together.
  • Check other-funding restrictions and any payment, renewal, termination or repayment terms.
  • Keep the date you accessed a page separate from its publication/version date.

References

Historical original and present-day reference pointers have separate scopes. Newly written explanations were checked on 6 October 2026; this is not the sources’ publication date.

A · ISRA - Full Scholarship

Original programme page, recovered again as HTML. It states an application closing date of 15 January 2018.

Publication: not stated. Archive capture: 2017-12-14 07:54:02. Access: 6 October 2026. No printed effective date verified.

Section: Purpose; Eligibility Criteria; Coverage; Award; What is Required?

Capture time is not publication time. The linked 2018 application form and award agreement were not recovered. This page does not establish all contractual obligations, allowance amounts or payment routing. The thesis-proposal study-mode qualifier is unclear.

C · Scholarships & Financial Aid at INCEIF University

Official present-day reference listing named scholarships and intake-specific information.

Publication: not stated. Archive capture: not applicable. Access: 6 October 2026. No printed effective date verified.

Section: Internal Scholarships; Chancellor’s Scholarship; President’s Scholarship; Important Dates

Checked through web reader; direct HTTP returned 403. No documentary statement establishing these as successors to the ISRA Global Scholarship Award was located. Other entries on the same page contain different cycles; consult the specific named entry.

I · ISRA INFAQ FUND (ISHRIF) APPLICATION FORM 2026 — FAQs

The official FAQ calls ISHRIF one-time zakat assistance for eligible asnaf students, rather than a scholarship.

Publication: not stated. Archive capture: not applicable. Access: 6 October 2026. No printed effective date verified.

Section: FAQ 1–2; 5; 10

Page is labelled 2026; publication/effective date is unstated. Asnaf eligibility must be assessed under its own rules. A shared ISRA name does not establish programme succession or open eligibility to every reader.

Related reading

Search

Search guides, glossary entries, research and publications in English.