Evidence checked 6 October 2026 · Educational explanation
First read the role, then the name
Conditional hibah is a gift that takes effect on death in this nomination framework. It can be revoked during life. It is not an immediate transfer of your house, savings or every other asset. Assignment, a child’s payment arrangements and a nominee’s death can change where benefits go.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) · Takaful Malaysia family nomination form — Schedule 10: 3, 4, 6, 7, 9.
Which certificates does this cover?
Schedule 10 of the Islamic Financial Services Act 2013 (IFSA), read with section 142, covers family takaful and personal accident takaful certificates taken by a participant on their own life, providing benefits on their death. The statutory power to nominate begins at age 16. The witness must be at least 18, of sound mind and not a named nominee.
Participant means the certificate owner; person covered means the life insured by the takaful certificate. A parent who owns a certificate covering a child is not necessarily in the same position as a parent whose own life is covered. Takaful Malaysia’s individual family nomination form expressly excludes its nomination section when the person covered differs from the participant. Do not use a family form to decide a motor, medical-only, employer or third-party certificate’s payment route.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) · Takaful Malaysia family nomination form · Budi certificate (April 2026) — Schedule 10: 1–2; form note 1; certificate information statement 3.1.
Two names can look alike; two roles can differ
Ask whether you intend the person to keep the benefit, or to handle its distribution. Use the operator’s permitted choice and form rather than a verbal instruction to an agent. Takaful Malaysia’s verified 2024 family form requires one nomination type for all listed nominees and permits only one nominee if executor is selected. Those are this form’s instructions, not a universal one-executor rule for every operator.
Sources: Takaful Malaysia family nomination form — notes 10–11 and declaration.
Beneficiary and executor are different roles
Fictional comparison: two Malaysian participants, each with an accepted payable benefit of RM100,000. Each nominates one adult for 100%. Their own lives are covered; the nominee survives them. No assignment, pledge, fraud or claim exclusion is assumed.
Receives ownership
The adult nominee receives the payable benefit as their own under conditional hibah. This benefit is outside the participant’s estate, subject to the statutory exceptions.
Receives a duty to distribute
The adult nominee receives the money to administer and distribute under the applicable will or estate law. Being paid first does not make all of it their personal gift.
Text summary: Both forms name an adult and show the same amount. Only Form A gives beneficial ownership; Form B gives an administration duty.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) · Takaful Malaysia family nomination form — Schedule 10: 3, 6.
An executor’s eventual distribution depends on the participant’s applicable estate law and any valid will. This article does not calculate faraid shares or decide who is a lawful heir. A beneficiary is different from a person merely authorised to receive money for someone else.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) — Schedule 10: 6, 10.
What can come before the nominee?
How benefits may reach the recipient
- Establish the payable benefit
Check the covered event, in-force certificate, schedule, exclusions and claim evidence. Naming a person cannot create a benefit the contract does not pay.
- Preserve assignment or security rights
An assignee or secured claimant has priority over the nominee. Only the remaining benefit moves to the nomination route, subject to those rights.
- Read the valid nomination and recipient circumstances
Beneficiary
Owns payable benefit. If under 18, use the child-payment route in Visual 3. Death of a nominee may send a share to an estate.
Executor
Receives to administer and distribute under applicable estate rules. The operator’s payment does not discharge that distribution duty.
No nomination
Lawful executor or administrator; a limited proper-claimant route may apply. Receipt is for estate administration, not automatic ownership.
Text summary: Check the claim amount first, preserve assignment/security priority second, then follow the nomination role and any special recipient conditions.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) · Budi certificate (April 2026) — Schedule 10: 3, 5–10, 13; Budi 4.1, 5.1.
Assignment transfers rights; a pledge uses rights as security. They are separate from choosing beneficiary or executor. For example, a financing-related assignment may give a lender priority. Schedule 10 paragraph 7 preserves an assignee’s or secured person’s claim before the nominee’s, with the balance paid to the nominee. Do not assume a fresh nomination cancels an existing assignment. Takaful Malaysia publishes a separate absolute-assignment form: read the actual instrument and ask the operator to confirm what remains payable to a nominee.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) · Separate absolute-assignment form — Schedule 10: 7.
Conditional-hibah benefits are generally outside the participant’s estate and debts under paragraph 3(2), but “creditor-proof in every case” is too strong. If the certificate was taken out and contributions paid with intent to defraud a creditor, paragraph 3(3) permits recovery equal to those contributions. Paragraph 3(4) limits recovery where a beneficiary received in good faith and has used the benefits: if the unused benefits are less than the contributions, recovery is that unused amount. This does not say every creditor gets the whole death benefit.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) · Great Eastern Takaful beneficiary form — Schedule 10: 3(2)–(4).
If no effective nomination exists
The normal recipient is the lawful executor or estate administrator. The dated statutory text also permits the operator, if satisfied there is none at the time of payment, to pay a proper claimant without the estate grant up to its stated limit: RM100,000, or a higher amount prescribed by BNM. This limit applies to the aggregate unnominated benefits with that operator, not separately to each certificate. The balance goes to the lawful executor or administrator. Confirm the operative limit and required documents with the operator; this is permission, not a guaranteed immediate payment.
A proper claimant receives for administration and distribution under paragraph 10, rather than owning everything personally. The older introductory nomination guide says the operator is not obliged to release benefits before an estate grant. It omits the optional proper-claimant route; that omission does not turn the statutory discretion into a prohibition. Read the statute and current form for the fuller explanation.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) · Takaful Malaysia family nomination form · Operator nomination guide — Schedule 10: 8, 10; form: 5.
Children: ownership and payment are different questions
You can nominate a child as a conditional-hibah beneficiary, but do not assume a young child receives the money directly or that the guardian owns it. Paragraph 9 covers people under 18 and specified medically certified incapacity. Its parent/no-surviving-parent routes are shown below. For a proposed child executor or another incapacity arrangement, obtain the operator’s written process and qualified legal advice; the beneficiary flow is not an answer to every case.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) · Great Eastern Takaful nomination page — Schedule 10: 9.
A child can own the benefit while an adult receives payment
This is about who can receive payment for an under-18 conditional-hibah beneficiary, not a rule changing the child into an executor.
- Is there a surviving parent?
Yes → the operator shall pay the parent under paragraph 9(a). The parent receives for the child; parent and beneficiary are different roles.
- No surviving parent: check the amount
RM50,000 or less
The operator may pay a proper claimant who satisfies it and gives an undertaking to use the money solely for the nominee’s maintenance and benefit.
Above RM50,000
The operator shall pay the Public Trustee or a trust company nominated by the participant.
Text summary: For an under-18 beneficiary: surviving parent first. Without a surviving parent, RM50,000 is the dividing threshold for the statutory routes shown. “May” and “shall” differ.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) — Schedule 10: 9(a).
If someone under 18, or meeting paragraph 9’s incapacity criteria, is a person payable through the no-nomination proper-claimant route in paragraph 8(2), paragraph 9(b) instead directs payment to the Public Trustee or a trust company nominated by the participant. Do not apply the beneficiary’s parent route to that separate situation.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) — Schedule 10: 8(2), 9(b).
The Great Eastern Takaful beneficiary form retrieved here is V05-062026. Its note (e) says under 16, while the examined IFSA paragraph 9 says under 18. Its customer page separately permits nomination of a child below 18. We use the statute’s under-18 wording, including for ages 16–17; ask the operator to reconcile its form and payment process in writing before relying on an individual arrangement. We have not obtained that clarification.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) · Great Eastern Takaful beneficiary form · Great Eastern Takaful nomination page — GET note (e); IFSA: 9, 13.
Muslim, non-Muslim and mixed-faith families
The examined Schedule 10 nomination choice is not worded as Muslim-only. Do not decide the role from someone’s religion, surname or relationship. Great Eastern Takaful’s dated public participation FAQ says non-Muslims can participate, with exceptions for specified Hajj-related benefits and services. Product eligibility and the right to receive a particular benefit still require the selected certificate; participation is separate from estate distribution.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) · Dated participation FAQ — paragraphs 2–3; FAQ dated 16 November 2022.
For a Muslim participant wanting a non-Muslim relative to receive benefits, ask the operator to confirm the conditional-hibah role, own-life scope and recorded nomination for the exact certificate. For an executor route, ask a qualified adviser which estate law applies and who may lawfully inherit. If anyone has changed religion, lives abroad or has a disputed family status, explain those facts to the adviser. We do not determine religious inheritance rights, the validity of a marriage or a personal Shariah ruling from a checkbox.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) · Takaful Malaysia family nomination form — Schedule 10: 3, 6, 13.
Keep the asset list separate: takaful nomination does not nominate your bank account, EPF balance, house or other estate property. Each has its own ownership, nomination and administration rules. Likewise, do not copy conventional life-insurance nomination rules into this takaful explanation.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) — scope inference from paragraph 1.
Update the record, not just the family conversation
When to review the nomination
- When the certificate is issuedChoose the intended role; confirm own-life scope and recorded nomination.
- Marriage, divorce, a new child or contact changeReview recipients, shares and contact details; submit any required change.
- A nominee dies or an assignment is madeCheck the estate route for a deceased nominee and any rights with payment priority.
- A will is revised or religion changesReview nomination separately; obtain qualified advice on applicable estate law.
- After submitting an amendmentKeep submission evidence and confirm the operator’s record and endorsement.
Life events prompt a review; they do not automatically replace a recorded nomination. A will alone does not revoke it under paragraph 4(2).
Text summary: Check at issue, after family or contact changes, after a nominee’s death or new assignment, and when reviewing a will or changing religion. Confirm the operator’s record after any amendment.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) · Takaful Malaysia family nomination form · Operator nomination guide — Schedule 10: 2, 4–5.
Use the current form or the operator’s accepted online process, complete identification and shares, use a witness who meets the statutory conditions and keep proof of submission and the endorsement. Paragraph 2(4) requires registration and says the nomination takes effect from registration; paragraph 2(5) preserves validity if a nomination is otherwise proved to have been made and given to the operator despite its failure to comply. Do not treat a missing endorsement as proof that a submitted nomination is necessarily void, or an unsubmitted draft as completed.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) · Operator nomination guide — Schedule 10: 2(3)–(5).
If one of several conditional-hibah beneficiaries dies before the participant and is not replaced, paragraph 4(3) sends that share to the participant’s estate. A sole nominee’s death during the participant’s life revokes the nomination under paragraph 4(1)(a). If a beneficiary dies after the participant but before payment, the benefit goes to the beneficiary’s estate; if the deceased nominee was an executor, it goes to the participant’s estate. These are different sequences.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) · Takaful Malaysia family nomination form — Schedule 10: 4, 5(4); form: 8–9, 12.
The live-linked April 2026 Budi certificate information statement 3.3 broadly describes payment to surviving nominees. Paragraph 4(3) of Schedule 10 and Takaful Malaysia’s form note 8 expressly send a predeceased conditional-hibah beneficiary’s share to the participant’s estate if no replacement was made. Paragraph 13 says the Schedule prevails over inconsistent certificate terms. We follow that statutory distinction here; obtain a written reconciliation for your issued certificate rather than assuming the survivors receive the deceased beneficiary’s share.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) · Takaful Malaysia family nomination form · Budi certificate (April 2026) — Schedule 10: 4(3), 13; Budi: 3.3.
A nomination does not buy extra cover
First establish which benefit is actually payable. The examined Budi certificate separates death, disability and maturity benefits; nomination on death is not an instruction for every living benefit. Its early Accelerated Death Expense (ADE) payment is part of the Sum Covered, not an extra amount or a loss of that portion. The remaining Sum Covered is then paid after deducting that early payment, together with the Participant Account (PA) amount and Total Account Value, if any. Those are certificate components, not all your assets. The document also deducts debt on the certificate before releasing specified benefits. This is distinct from ordinary estate debts under conditional hibah.
Sources: Budi certificate (April 2026) — Budi: 4.1, 4.2, 4.4.
Keep paying the required contributions and check lapse, exclusions and disclosure obligations. For example, the examined Budi death exclusion addresses suicide within one year of its risk-effective or reinstatement date, whichever is later. A nomination does not remove that exclusion. Read all applicable basic and rider terms rather than using this single example as the full exclusion list.
Sources: Budi certificate (April 2026) — Budi: 5.1, 6.23.
The verified nomination documents do not establish a universal nomination fee. Ask for any amendment charge. Protection contributions and certificate charges continue separately; legal advice, estate administration or a trustee service may have their own charges. Obtain the applicable written fee schedule. No free-service promise or fee estimate is made here.
Sources: Takaful Malaysia family nomination form · Budi certificate (April 2026) — fee-scope inference; Budi 2.1–2.4.
Six checks to do with your operator
- Is this an own-life certificate, and which death benefits and account values are included?
- Is each recipient a beneficiary, executor, assignee or person receiving for a child? Show me the recorded form and endorsement.
- Are there any assignment, pledge, certificate debt, lapse or exclusion issues? What remains payable?
- Do the beneficiary percentages total 100%, and is anyone deceased, under 18 or unable to manage their affairs?
- What changed in my family, contact details, will, religion or financing? Does my nomination need a written update?
- What documents and fees apply at a claim, and who should my family contact? Give them the certificate details and keep submission evidence.
After a death, notify the operator and obtain its current claim-document checklist. Schedule 10 paragraph 5 requires a claim and proof of death; do not treat a nomination as automatic payment without a claim.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) · Takaful Malaysia family nomination form — Schedule 10: 5.
References
Sources checked on 6 October 2026. This is new editorial explanation based on public law and issuer documents, with fictional examples. No legacy ISRA research item is assigned to G20; credit remains with the source issuers. English and Bahasa Melayu are authored explanations, not issuer-certified legal translations.
The AGC online text is printed “as at 2 January 2025”, despite its Online 2026 filename, and says it is not an authentic reprint until formally reprinted. Its amendment list covers Schedule 11 orders in 2021 and 2023 and the Schedule 2 order effective 2 January 2025. Searches of AGC/BNM public records did not locate a later Schedule 10 change; that is a research finding, not certification of an exhaustive gazette search. The RM100,000 no-nomination limit allows a higher amount prescribed by BNM; no later higher prescription was established in the sources checked. Confirm current law and the operative limit before a personal claim.
Sources: IFSA Schedule 10 (AGC) · BNM legislation catalog · BNM regulatory catalog — cover; amendment list; Schedule 10: 8(2).
The two exact provider discrepancies are explained above. We have no issued personal certificate, recorded nomination, assignment deed, family evidence or authenticated operator reconciliation. Those facts are needed to decide an individual estate or payment outcome. it is not
- Islamic Financial Services Act 2013, Act 759 — AGC updated online textAttorney General’s Chambers of Malaysia · Printed as at 2 January 2025; filename Online 2026; not authentic reprint until reprinted · section 142; Schedule 10 paragraphs 1–13 (PDF pp. 285–292); amendment list pp. 304–305
- Akta Perkhidmatan Kewangan Islam 2013, Akta 759 — teks dalam talian JPNJabatan Peguam Negara Malaysia · Dicetak sebagaimana pada 2 Januari 2025; nama fail Dalam talian 2026; bukan teks sah sehingga dicetak semula · seksyen 142; Jadual 10, PDF pp. 316–323; senarai pindaan
- Form Download — Family Products and General ProductsTakaful Malaysia · No publication/effective date displayed · Family Products: Nomination Guide, Nomination Form, Absolute Assignment Form; distinct General Products forms
- Nomination Form for Individual Family Certificate / Borang PenamaanSyarikat Takaful Malaysia Keluarga Berhad · Nomi_Ind_Family_Ver01_2024; precise effective date not stated · 3 pages: notes 1–12; nomination-type declaration; witness statement
- Nomination GuideSyarikat Takaful Malaysia Keluarga Berhad · No printed publication/effective date; March 2023 hosting path · Glossary; nomination criteria; no-nomination summary; how to make nomination
- Absolute Assignment FormSyarikat Takaful Malaysia Keluarga Berhad · AA_Ind Family_Ver5 06-2025; exact effective date not stated · 2 pages: assignment declaration and assignee fields
- Appointment / Change of Nominee as Beneficiary(ies)Great Eastern Takaful Berhad · CSD-FNOMI-V05-062026-TAKAFUL; retrieved actual text differs from older V03-082025 search title · pp. 1–2: legal notice 1–4, beneficiary notes (a)–(e)
- Appointment/change of nominee(s) as beneficiary(ies)Great Eastern Takaful Berhad · Undated live customer-service page · Requirements; Note1 child below18; Note2 beneficiary/executor; linked form
- Takaful participation FAQ infographicGreat Eastern Takaful Berhad · Printed date 16 November 2022; current public copy, not a 2026 effective product edition · Can a non-Muslim participate? footnote on specified Hajj benefits/services
- Takaful Malaysia Budi product page (English)Syarikat Takaful Malaysia Keluarga Berhad · No publication/effective date shown · Download documents: certificate link32
- Takaful Malaysia Budi Certificate Wording (English)Syarikat Takaful Malaysia Keluarga Berhad · Takaful Malaysia Budi/V05(E)/04-2026; base29 pages, bundled149 pages · 2.1–2.4; 4.1,4.2,4.4; 5.1; 6.23; Certificate Information Statement3 (PDFp27)
- Sijil Takaful Malaysia Budi (Bahasa Melayu)Syarikat Takaful Malaysia Keluarga Berhad · Takaful Malaysia Budi/V05(B)/04-2026; base31 pages, bundled156 pages · 2.1–2.4;4.1,4.2,4.4;5.1;6.23; Penyata Maklumat Sijil3 (PDFp29)
- LegislationBank Negara Malaysia · Live catalog checked 6 October 2026; no overall update date · Islamic Financial Services Act2013 entry; separate other-act amendment notes
- Banking & Islamic Banking — regulatory documentsBank Negara Malaysia · Live catalog includes 2025–2026 entries checked6 October2026 · 2024 Financial Ombudsman Scheme amendments; subsequent2025–2026 entries