Practical guide

Medical takaful: medical cards, co-payment and rising contributions

A medical card may not pay the whole hospital bill. Understand deductibles, co-payment and benefit limits, then try the example bill calculator.

An empty office desk holds a stethoscope and clipboard in front of a chair.
ISRA · G17 · Consumer guide draftBahasa Melayu

Sources checked 6 October 2026 · Malaysia

Hospitalisation and surgical cover reimburses specified eligible expenses; a critical-illness lump sum or daily hospital allowance works differently. Check which benefit you actually bought. The examples below explain bill sharing, not whether treatment or a claim is eligible. Financial Education Network: MHIT Made Simple

Start with the eligible expenses

1. Who pays this eligible RM10,000 bill?

Fictional reference case: the entire RM10,000 is eligible; 10% co-takaful, no deductible, no cap and enough benefit limit. Participant: RM10,000 × 10% = RM1,000. Operator: RM10,000 − RM1,000 = RM9,000.

You pay 10%:RM1,000
Operator pays 90%:RM9,000
The bar shows the 10%/90% split, with text labels giving both amounts. This uncapped case isolates the arithmetic; it is not a product quotation. Actual caps, exceptions and eligible charges matter. Checked 6 October 2026. BNM co-payment clarification, 6 July 2024

Now suppose the hospital also bills RM500 for items outside the cover. The total bill becomes RM10,500, while the eligible bill stays RM10,000. In this fictional case your total payment is RM1,000 + RM500 = RM1,500; the operator still pays RM9,000. A percentage cap on co-payment would not automatically cap the RM500 of excluded expenses.

Ask for an itemised estimate, the applicable room limit and remaining annual benefit limit. “As charged” still needs to be read with medical necessity, reasonable and customary charges, sublimits and exclusions. Cashless and pay-first-claim-later are payment methods, not different tests of cover. Kaotim MediKad certificate, pp. 7, 10–14, 17 and 22 · Financial Education Network: MHIT Made Simple

What does the cost-sharing clause actually say?

A deductible is a fixed amount you bear before the relevant benefit pays. Co-takaful commonly refers to a percentage you bear. Co-payment is used more broadly for cost sharing. Ask whether the amount applies per admission, per disability or per certificate year, which expenses it applies to, and whether an annual cap has already been partly used. Kaotim MediKad FAQ, Q18–29 · AIA Malaysia: Claims and Guarantee Letters FAQ

2. Deductible versus percentage co-payment

10% only; no cap (reference)

10,000 × 10% = 1,000 · You: RM1,000 · Operator: RM9,000

RM1,000 deductible only

min(1,000, 10,000) = 1,000 · You: RM1,000 · Operator: RM9,000

10% only; RM500 cap

min(10,000 × 10%, 500) = 500 · You: RM500 · Operator: RM9,500

RM1,000 deductible, then 10%

1,000 + (10,000 − 1,000) × 10% = 1,900 · You: RM1,900 · Operator: RM8,100

Here, min means the smaller of the two amounts. Every row uses the same eligible RM10,000 bill, no excluded items and enough benefit limit. Each alternative changes one feature from the reference: replace the percentage with a fixed deductible; add a cap; or add a deductible before the percentage. The combined row is an educational method, not a MediKad term. Checked 6 October 2026. Kaotim MediKad FAQ, Q18–29 · BNM co-payment clarification, 6 July 2024

Since 1 September 2024, operators must offer co-payment options. BNM allows existing plans without co-payment to continue at renewal and permits their sale to new customers. Separately, §9.4(c) requires all newly designed individual medical reimbursement products to include minimum co-payment. Changes to an existing product’s benefits or limits, including rider additions, can count as a new product under footnote 12. The rule does not force every existing medical card to switch. BNM co-payment clarification, 6 July 2024 · BNM MHIT Business policy, §§4.1, 9.4–9.6 and Appendix 1

BNM says co-payments do not apply to emergency treatment, follow-up outpatient treatment for critical illnesses such as cancer or kidney dialysis, or treatment at government healthcare facilities. Confirm how those exceptions and the maximum cap are implemented in your certificate; other cover conditions still apply. BNM co-payment clarification, 6 July 2024

Try the fictional bill splitter

All inputs stay on this page. Enter expenses already assumed eligible; this tool cannot decide coverage, claim entitlement or affordability. For an exception that waives cost sharing, enter zero for the relevant deductible or percentage.

Method: remaining deductible → percentage on the balance, rounded to sen → remaining cap on that percentage component only → limit on the operator’s payment. Add excluded expenses to your payment. BNM §9.4(a)(i) specifies percentage sharing after any deductible for its minimum option. This calculator’s sen rounding, percentage-only cap and benefit-limit handling are explicit teaching assumptions, not authenticated MediKad terms. Use remaining amounts after earlier claims; no automatic annual reset is modelled.

BNM MHIT Business policy, §§4.1, 9.4–9.6 and Appendix 1

A medical card, a GL and cover are different things

3. From application and admission to a claim decision

  1. Before cover starts: applicationAnswer underwriting questions fully and accurately; keep accepted terms and exclusions.
  2. Before admission: check the certificateConfirm in-force cover, waiting periods, treatment benefits and the hospital/specialist panel arrangements.
  3. Admission: request the cashless facilityThe hospital submits information for an initial GL. A deposit or upfront payment may still be needed.
  4. Discharge: final bill and assessmentActual treatment and itemised charges are checked. Final approval determines covered payment and your share.
  5. If no cashless approvalClarify whether it is a facility issue, pending assessment or a coverage rejection. Ask for reasons and the reimbursement/appeal route.
GL = guarantee letter (surat jaminan). The initial/final GL distinction is illustrated by AIA’s public FAQ; confirm your operator’s process. A card identifies cover and a GL supports settlement of covered expenses. Neither means every bill item is approved. Checked 6 October 2026. AIA Malaysia: Claims and Guarantee Letters FAQ · Kaotim current MediKad page and download links

In the inspected MediKad wording, ordinary illnesses have a 30-day waiting period and specified illnesses 120 days from the later of the effective or reinstatement date; accidental injury has no waiting period. Pre-existing conditions are excluded under that wording. These are product-specific rules, not a universal timetable for medical cards. A waiting period ending does not remove an exclusion. Kaotim MediKad certificate, pp. 7, 10–14, 17 and 22

Waiting for a GL is not the same as the certificate’s waiting period. For urgent care, follow medical advice and clarify the payment arrangements with the hospital and operator. Keep the itemised bill, medical reports, receipts and written decision. Financial Education Network: MHIT Made Simple

Read an actual PDS alongside the certificate

The current Kaotim product page links to a MediKad PDS, certificate wording and FAQ. The PDS says renewal is guaranteed but contribution rates are not. Read that with the coverage term, payment obligations and termination provisions: guaranteed renewal does not promise the same price forever. Kaotim MediKad PDS (3 pages) and appendix (8 pages), fee/refund and version clauses

The FAQ’s deductible is per disability: a contract-defined episode of related illness or injury, rather than necessarily permanent disability. The inspected wording exempts room and board, government-hospital cash allowance, emergency accidental outpatient treatment, outpatient cancer and dialysis treatment, and emergency treatment from its deductible; it also waives the deductible at government hospitals. Check the basic plan and any MediBooster rider separately. The PDS comparison table also has percentage co-takaful columns for myMediShare alternatives. Those columns do not prove your MediKad has both a deductible and that percentage share. Ask which column, basic plan and rider appear in your individual schedule. Kaotim MediKad FAQ, Q18–29 · Kaotim MediKad PDS (3 pages) and appendix (8 pages), fee/refund and version clauses · Kaotim MediKad certificate, pp. 7, 10–14, 17 and 22

Why can contributions rise even if you make no claim?

Medical claims are funded across a pool. Higher treatment costs and greater use of healthcare can increase the pool’s claims, while your age may separately change your contribution. Your own claims history therefore does not by itself determine the renewal price. Financial Education Network: MHIT Made Simple

4. A higher contribution: what to check next

  1. Your contribution notice arrivesRequest a breakdown of the increase and the effective date.
  2. Separate the causesAge progression and medical-claims-inflation repricing are different. An investment-linked rider also needs a fund-sustainability review.
  3. Ask about the time-limited reliefConfirm which 2024–2026 repricing adjustment and alternative plan options apply to you.
  4. Compare future payments and your bill shareA lower contribution with a higher deductible may leave you needing more cash at hospital. Obtain written replacement terms before cancelling cover.
A decision path, not a prediction of future rates. The relief is dated; contribution savings do not establish equivalent cover. Checked 6 October 2026. BNM interim repricing measures, 20 December 2024 · Financial Education Network: MHIT Made Simple

BNM’s December 2024 measure covers medical-claims-inflation changes effected in 2024–2026, spread over at least three years. The end-2026 window does not mean all staged payments finish then. The “below 10%” expectation applies to at least 80% of affected policyholders, not a universal cap. Age-band increases are separate. The one-year pause applies to affected participants aged 60 or above at the anniversary when repricing takes effect, on the lowest plan within their specific MHIT product. It excludes age-band increases; the operator identifies eligible participants in writing. BNM interim repricing measures, 20 December 2024 · LIAM interim repricing FAQ, Q8–9 · BNM MHIT portal: MediAsas pilot and rollout

Relief also provides routes to reinstatement for cover surrendered or lapsed in 2024 because of repricing, and, for participants affected by repricing, appropriate alternative MHIT products at the same or lower contributions without additional underwriting or switching cost under the announced measure. Ask for the conditions in writing; a fresh purchase outside that route may require new underwriting and waiting periods. BNM interim repricing measures, 20 December 2024 · Kaotim MediKad certificate, pp. 7, 10–14, 17 and 22

Is the proposed base plan available yet?

As checked on 6 October 2026, BNM calls the base plan MediAsas. Its portal describes a limited Klang Valley pilot scheduled from late July to October 2026, with nationwide launch planned for January 2027. Final features and pricing are to be published at launch. The published schedule does not verify pilot completion or establish general public availability. BNM MHIT portal: MediAsas pilot and rollout · BNM Base MHIT Plan White Paper

Three common misunderstandings

  • “Cashless means I pay nothing.” The payment method does not remove your deductible, percentage share or excluded items.
  • “A cap limits my entire hospital payment.” Ask what the cap covers; excluded items and benefit-limit shortfalls may remain outside it.
  • “Guaranteed renewal means a guaranteed price.” Check the renewal clause and the contribution notice separately.
AIA Malaysia: Claims and Guarantee Letters FAQ · Kaotim MediKad PDS (3 pages) and appendix (8 pages), fee/refund and version clauses

Questions to ask before choosing or changing a card

  • Who may apply? Takaful can include non-Muslims; current MediKad eligibility is stated for Malaysians subject to age and underwriting. Confirm the chosen product’s requirements.
  • Which expenses are eligible, what waiting periods/exclusions apply, and what is the remaining annual limit?
  • What will I pay per disability/admission/year? Ask for a worked example including the cap, deductible exceptions and room upgrade.
  • Is my hospital and specialist covered by the cashless arrangement? What deposit or pay-first amount should I prepare?
  • Can I afford future contributions as well as my share of a hospital bill? Ask about standalone cover versus an investment-linked rider.
  • If changing plans, obtain written terms on underwriting, waiting periods and continuity before ending existing cover.
  • If a claim is rejected or delayed, seek written reasons and complain to the operator. FMOS referral is generally within six months of its final decision, or after no response for 60 days, subject to FMOS scope.
Takaful Malaysia corporate FAQ, pp. 16–17 · Kaotim current MediKad page and download links · Financial Education Network: MHIT Made Simple · FMOS: Filing a Complaint

References

This is a new editorial explanation, not an original ISRA research finding or a provider endorsement. The dated operator and MFPC materials retain their issuers’ credit. Source documents were inspected on 6 October 2026; current rules, product terms and fictional examples are identified separately.

  1. BNM MHIT Business policy, §§4.1, 9.4–9.6 and Appendix 1
    Bank Negara Malaysia · 29 February 2024; generally effective 1 June 2024; §9.4(a)–(b) effective 1 September 2024
    Individual reimbursement product design and offering rules; actual certificate implements the selected option.
  2. LIAM interim repricing FAQ, Q8–9
    Life Insurance Association of Malaysia · 20 December 2024
    Age at the repricing anniversary and lowest plan within the specific MHIT product determine the 60+ pause.
  3. Kaotim MediKad Bahasa Melayu certificate, pp. 4–5 and 26
    Syarikat Takaful Malaysia Keluarga Berhad · Filename 30 March 2026; individual applicability not established
    BM definition expressly identifies 25% as non-refundable management fee; read with individual certificate information.
  4. BNM co-payment clarification, 6 July 2024
    Bank Negara Malaysia · 6 July 2024; option requirement effective 1 September 2024
    Mandatory offering of options does not mean compulsory conversion of every card.
  5. BNM interim repricing measures, 20 December 2024
    Bank Negara Malaysia · 20 December 2024; spreading measure through end-2026
    Medical-claims-inflation relief; age-band increases excluded; individual eligibility must be confirmed.
  6. BNM Base MHIT Plan White Paper
    Bank Negara Malaysia · Publication date not stated in inspected HTML
    Prospective design; later MHIT portal gives pilot update.
  7. BNM MHIT portal: MediAsas pilot and rollout
    Bank Negara Malaysia · Live page; pilot late July–October 2026; launch planned January 2027
    Pilot features and pricing are not final nationwide offers.
  8. Kaotim MediKad PDS (3 pages) and appendix (8 pages), fee/refund and version clauses
    Syarikat Takaful Malaysia Keluarga Berhad · Filename 29 July 2026; appendix valid as at May 2025
    Template includes unfilled customer fields and alternative myMediShare columns; applicability needs confirmation.
  9. Kaotim MediKad certificate, pp. 7, 10–14, 17 and 22
    Syarikat Takaful Malaysia Keluarga Berhad · Filename 30 March 2026; contractual effective date not established
    Individual certificate information page and endorsements determine actual terms.
  10. Kaotim MediKad FAQ, Q18–29
    Syarikat Takaful Malaysia Keluarga Berhad · Filename 11 April 2025
    Selected benefits have deductible exceptions; not every item of a bill uses one formula.
  11. Kaotim current MediKad page and download links
    Syarikat Takaful Malaysia Keluarga Berhad · Live page; checked 6 October 2026
    Product-specific eligibility, underwriting and current linked documents; not proof of individual acceptance.
  12. AIA Malaysia: Claims and Guarantee Letters FAQ
    AIA Malaysia · Live page; publication date not stated
    Provider-specific example of initial/final GL and deposits; check your own operator.
  13. Financial Education Network: MHIT Made Simple
    Financial Education Network · Live page; publication date not stated
    General education; actual contract determines benefits and billing.
  14. Takaful Malaysia corporate FAQ, pp. 16–17
    Takaful Malaysia · Document code CP2022/January/120123; effective date not stated
    Historical operator explanation; current product eligibility must be checked.
  15. FMOS: Filing a Complaint
    Financial Markets Ombudsman Service · March 2026 (source register); inspected current page
    Scope, monetary limits and deadlines apply; outcome not guaranteed.

Search

Search guides, glossary entries, research and publications in English.